skip to main content | skip to footer
N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources

NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Natural Heritage Program - Contact

Natural Heritage Program

Contact Us

The Natural Heritage Program compiles data, creates maps and distributes information about rare species, natural communities and conservation sites. This is a two-way process, that includes distributing and compiling scientific information to inform conservation in North Carolina.

Our knowledgable staff is available to answer information requests about rare species or specific sites.

Our database houses information collected by Natural Heritage Program staff and a wide array of partners who conduct research and provide data. We rely on professional biologists and volunteers to contribute information that will keep our database accurate and up-to-date. 

Natural Heritage Program Staff Directory

Name Title Email Phone Number
Jame Amoroso Conservation Information Specialist jame.amoroso@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8621
Misty Buchanan Natural Heritage Inventory Director misty.buchanan@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8107
Maxwell Feldman NHP Intern maxwell.feldman@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8650
John Finnegan Conservation Information Manager john.finnegan@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8630
Eric Galamb Stewardship Program Director eric.galamb@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8109
Harry LeGrand Zoologist harry.legrand@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8603
Suzanne Mason Conservation Information Manager suzanne.mason@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8637
James Padgett Foothills Inventory Specialist james.padgett@ncdenr.gov 704-600-8131
Scott Pohlman Conservation Incentives Program Director scott.pohlman@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8110
Judith Ratcliffe Freshwater Ecologist, Eastern Region judith.ratcliffe@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8628
Laura Gadd Robinson Botanist laura.robinson@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8647
Michael Schafale Terrestrial Ecologist michael.schafale@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8627
Ed Schwartzman Mountains Inventory Specialist edward.schwartzman@ncdenr.gov 828-553-3563
Mickey Jo Sorrell Educational Development Consultant mickey.sorrell@ncdenr.gov  
Allison Weakley Conservation Planner allison.weakley@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8629
Web Content Display Web Content Display
61587 FEEDBACK

Your input is valuable to us. Please send us your feedback.

What type of feedback would you like to send?*

Ask a Question Report a Problem Have a Concern Make a Comment

(If you would like us to respond please include your phone or e-mail.)

Your Question has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Problem has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Concern has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Comment has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

*If you are a DENR employee with an I.T. issue, please submit a DOTS ticket.