skip to main content | skip to footer
North Carolina Department of Environment Quality

NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Marine Fisheries - Species Leads

Marine Fisheries

FISHERIES MANAGEMENT SECTION LEADS
(Individual species in all caps denote state fishery management plan) 05/14/18

SPECIES/PROGRAM STAFF/EMAIL PHONE SECTION PROGRAMS

Finfish

Aging Lab
Randy.Gregory@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8078
American Eel Todd.Mathes@ncdenr.gov 252-948-3872
AMERICAN SHAD Holly.White@ncdenr.gov 252-264-3911 
Atlantic Croaker Daniel.Zapf@ncdenr.gov 252-948-3875 Carcass Collection Program
Randy.Gregory@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8078
Atlantic Menhaden Corrin.Flora@ncdenr.gov 252-264-3911
Atlantic Sturgeon Michael.Loeffler@ncdenr.gov 252-264-3911 
Billfishes Randy.Gregory@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8078 Citation Program
Carole.Y.Willis@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8081
Black Drum Chris.Stewart@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7370
Black Sea Bass (North) Todd.VanMiddlesworth@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734
Black Sea Bass (South) Mclean.Seward@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7289 Cold Stun Events
Steve.Poland@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8159
Bluefish Lisa.Hollensead@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734 
Catfishes Sean.Darsee@ncdenr.gov 252-264-3911 
Cobia Steve.Poland@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8159 Gear Development
Kevin.H.Brown@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8089 
Dolphin Steve.Poland@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8159
Gag Mclean.Seward@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7289
Hickory Shad Holly.White@ncdenr.gov 252-264-3911 Invasive Species
Corrin.Flora@ncdenr.gov

252-264-3911
INTERJURISDICTIONAL
STATE PLAN
Kathy.Rawls@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8074
King Mackerel Randy.Gregory@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8078
KINGFISHES Kevin.H.Brown@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8089  Permits (Bait Shrimp,
Pound Net,Scientific /
Educational Activity)

Jennifer.Lewis@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8076
Monkfish Lisa.Hollensead@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734 
Perches (White, Yellow) Sean.Darsee@ncdenr.gov 252-264-3911 
RED DRUM Lee.Paramore@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734 
RIVER HERRING Holly.White@ncdenr.gov 252-264-3911  Proclamation Distribution
Email List

Dana.Gillikin@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8075
Scup Todd.VanMiddlesworth@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734
Sharks Lisa.Hollensead@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734 
Sheepshead Anne.Markwith@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7292 Stock Assessment Program
Laura.Lee@ncdenr.gov
252-808-8094
Snapper Grouper Complex Mclean.Seward@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7289
SOUTHERN FLOUNDER Michael.Loeffler@ncdenr.gov 252-264-3911 
Spanish Mackerel Randy.Gregory@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8078 Tagging Program/Returns
Trevor.Scheffel@ncdenr.gov

252-948-3867
Spiny Dogfish Lisa.Hollensead@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734 
Spot Daniel.Zapf@ncdenr.gov 252-948-3875
SPOTTED SEATROUT Steve.Poland@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8159 MANAGEMENT
Striped Bass, Atlantic Ocean Charlton.Godwin@ncdenr.gov 252-264-3911  Fisheries Management
Section Chief
Kathy.Rawls@ncdenr.gov
252-808-8074
STRIPED BASS, ESTUARINE Charlton.Godwin@ncdenr.gov 252-264-3911 
Striped Bass, Albemarle/Roanoke Sean.Darsee@ncdenr.gov 252-264-3911 
Striped Bass, Central Todd.Mathes@ncdenr.gov 252-948-3872 Northern District Manager
Katy.West@ncdenr.gov
252-948-3884
Striped Bass, Southern Chris.Stewart@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7370
STRIPED MULLET Daniel.Zapf@ncdenr.gov 252-948-3875
Summer Flounder Todd.VanMiddlesworth@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734

Southern District Manager
Tina.Moore@ncdenr.gov
252-808-8082

Tautog Lisa.Hollensead@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734 
Tuna Randy.Gregory@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8078
Weakfish Steve.Poland@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8159 FMP/Rulemaking Coordinator
Catherine.Blum@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8014

Invertebrates

BAY SCALLOP Jeffrey.Dobbs@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8193
BLUE CRAB Jason.Rock@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8091 Executive Assistant
Jennifer.Lewis@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8076
EASTERN OYSTER Tina.Moore@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8082
HARD CLAM Jeffrey.Dobbs@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8193
Horseshoe Crab Jeffrey.Dobbs@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8193 Office Assistant
Dana.Gillikin@ncdenr.gov
252-808-8075
SHRIMP Chris.Stewart@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7370
Whelks Joe.Facendola@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7291
Print
N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries • 3441 Arendell Street • Morehead City, NC 28557 • 252-726-7021 or 800-682-2632

NC logo

38337 FEEDBACK

Your input is valuable to us. Please send us your feedback.

What type of feedback would you like to send?*

Ask a Question Report a Problem Have a Concern Make a Comment

(If you would like us to respond please include your phone or e-mail.)

Your Question has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Problem has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Concern has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Comment has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

*If you are a DENR employee with an I.T. issue, please submit a DOTS ticket.