skip to main content | skip to footer
North Carolina Department of Environment Quality

NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Marine Fisheries - Species Leads

Marine Fisheries

FISHERIES MANAGEMENT SPECIES SECTION LEADS
(Individual species in ALL CAPS denote state fishery management plan) 3/31/21
Download PDF version

SPECIES/PROGRAM STAFF/EMAIL PHONE SECTION PROGRAMS

Finfish

Carcass Collection Program
Carole.Y.Willis@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8078
American Eel Todd.Mathes@ncdenr.gov 252-948-3872
AMERICAN SHAD Holly.White@ncdenr.gov 252-381-6000
Atlantic Croaker Morgan.Paris@ncdenr.gov 252-948-3875 Citation Program
Carole.Y.Willis@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8081
Atlantic Menhaden Holly.White@ncdenr.gov 252-381-6000
Atlantic Sturgeon Scott.Smith@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8068
Billfishes Steve.Poland@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8011 Cold Stun Events
Tracey.Bauer@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8159
Black Drum Chris.Stewart@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7370
Black Sea Bass (North) Lorena.delaGarza@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734
Black Sea Bass (South) Mclean.Seward@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7289 Gear Development
Kevin.H.Brown@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8089 
Bluefish David.Behringer@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734 
Catfishes Charlton.Godwin@ncdenr.gov 252-381-6000
Cobia Anne.Markwith@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7292 Invasive Species
Nathaniel.Hancock@ncdenr.gov

252-381-6000
Dolphin Tracey.Bauer@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8159
Gag Mclean.Seward@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7289
Hickory Shad Holly.White@ncdenr.gov 252-381-6000 Observer Program
Barbie.Byrd@ncdenr.gov
252-808-8088
INTERJURISDICTIONAL
STATE PLAN
Jason.Rock@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8091
King Mackerel Mclean.Seward@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7289
KINGFISHES Kevin.H.Brown@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8089  Permits (Bait Shrimp,
Pound Net,Scientific /
Educational Activity)

Jennifer.Lewis@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8076
Monkfish David.Behringer@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734 
Perches (White, Yellow) Charlton.Godwin@ncdenr.gov 252-381-6000
RED DRUM Lee.Paramore@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734 
RIVER HERRING Holly.White@ncdenr.gov 252-381-6000 Proclamation Distribution
Email List

Debbie.Manley@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8075
Scup Lorena.delaGarza@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734
Sharks David.Behringer@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734 
Sheepshead Anne.Markwith@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7292 Stock Assessment Program
Laura.Lee@ncdenr.gov
252-808-8094
Snapper Grouper Complex Mclean.Seward@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7289
SOUTHERN FLOUNDER Michael.Loeffler@ncdenr.gov 252-381-6000
Spanish Mackerel Mclean.Seward@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8078 Tagging Program/Returns
Michael.Loeffler@ncdenr.gov
252-381-6000
Spiny Dogfish David.Behringer@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734 
Spot Morgan.Paris@ncdenr.gov 252-948-3874
SPOTTED SEATROUT Tracey.Bauer@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8159 MANAGEMENT
Striped Bass, Atlantic Ocean Charlton.Godwin@ncdenr.gov 252-381-6000 Fisheries Management
Section Chief
Kathy.Rawls@ncdenr.gov
252-808-8074
STRIPED BASS, ESTUARINE Charlton.Godwin@ncdenr.gov 252-381-6000
Striped Bass, Albemarle/Roanoke Charlton.Godwin@ncdenr.gov 252-381-6000
Striped Bass, Central Todd.Mathes@ncdenr.gov 252-948-3872 Northern District Manager
Katy.West@ncdenr.gov
252-948-3884
Striped Bass, Southern Chris.Stewart@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7370
STRIPED MULLET Daniel.Zapf@ncdenr.gov 252-948-3874
Summer Flounder Lorena.delaGarza@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734

Southern District Manager
Tina.Moore@ncdenr.gov
252-808-8082

Tautog David.Behringer@ncdenr.gov 252-473-5734 
Tuna Steve.Poland@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8078
Weakfish Tracey.Bauer@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8159 FMP Coordinator
Corrin.Flora@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8073

Invertebrates

BAY SCALLOP Jeffrey.Dobbs@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8193
BLUE CRAB Daniel.Zapf@ncdenr.gov 252-948-3874 Executive Assistant
Jennifer.Lewis@ncdenr.gov

252-808-8076
EASTERN OYSTER Joe.Facendola@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8082
HARD CLAM Jeffrey.Dobbs@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8193
Horseshoe Crab Jeffrey.Dobbs@ncdenr.gov 252-808-8193 Office Assistant
Debbie.Manley@ncdenr.gov
252-808-8075
SHRIMP Chris.Stewart@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7370
Whelks Joe.Facendola@ncdenr.gov 910-796-7291

 

Print
N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries • 3441 Arendell Street • Morehead City, NC 28557 • 252-726-7021 or 800-682-2632

NC logo

38337 FEEDBACK

Your input is valuable to us. Please send us your feedback.

What type of feedback would you like to send?*

Ask a Question Report a Problem Have a Concern Make a Comment

(If you would like us to respond please include your phone or e-mail.)

Your Question has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Problem has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Concern has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Comment has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

*If you are a DENR employee with an I.T. issue, please submit a DOTS ticket.