Date: August 2, 2013
Contact: Patricia Smith
Recreational Commercial Gear License Fee Increases
MOREHEAD CITY — The fee for a Recreational Commercial Gear License has increased by 25 percent.
On Aug. 1, the fee for this annual license for North Carolina residents went from $35 to $43.75 and the fee for out-of-state residents went from $250 to $312.50.
North Carolina law requires fishermen to hold a Recreational Commercial Gear License to use commercial gear, such as gill nets, for recreational purposes.
The increases are part of a number of license fee increases approved in this year’s state budget to help support the N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries Observer Program.
The observer program collects at-sea information about commercial and recreational catches, including information on discards. Technicians or Marine Patrol officers observe large and small mesh gill net and recreational hook and line fisheries onboard fishermen’s vessels or from a division vessel operated in the vicinity of the fishing activity. They record data on different aspects of the fishing activity. Observers also collect data on interactions with sea turtles and other protected species.
Increases in fees for commercial fishing licenses and permits approved in the state budget will occur at a later date when fiscal 2015 licenses go on sale.
For more information, contact division License and Statistics Section Chief Don Hesselman at 252-808-8099 or Don.Hesselman@ncdenr.gov.