skip to main content | skip to footer
N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources

NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Coastal Management - Rachel Carson Reserve hosts summer field trips

Coastal Management

Web Content Display javax.portlet.title.56

Rachel Carson Reserve hosts summer field trips

The Rachel Carson Reserve in Beaufort will be offering public field trips this summer on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 8:30-10:30a.m. The field trips will be conducted June, July and August.

During low tides, the trips will be a two-hour nature hike on the reserve focusing on the different habitats and the plants and animals found in each. During high tide, a boat ride will take visitors to the boardwalk on Carrot Island. Circumnavigation cruises around the reserve will allow visitors a chance to view Middle Marsh after a brief stop at the boardwalk. On all three trips, visitors are encouraged to bring sunglasses, hats, binoculars, water and sunscreen.

All programs are open to the public, but reservations are required as boat space is limited. Call (252) 838-0883 to make reservations or for more information.

Field TripAll trips are from 8:30a.m. - 10:30a.m.

June
June 22, Tuesday: Nature hike
June 24, Thursday: Rachel Carson Circumnavigation Cruise
June 29, Tuesday: Boardwalk trip

July
July 6, Tuesday: Nature hike
July 8, Thursday: Nature hike
July 13, Tuesday: Boardwalk trip
July 15, Thursday: Rachel Carson Circumnavigation Cruise
July 20, Tuesday: Nature hike
July 22, Thursday: Nature hike
July 27, Tuesday: Boardwalk trip
July 29, Thursday: Rachel Carson Circumnavigation Cruise

August
August 3, Tuesday: Nature hike
August 5, Thursday: Nature hike
August 10, Tuesday: Boardwalk trip
August 12, Thursday: Rachel Carson Circumnavigation Cruise
August 17, Tuesday: Nature hike
August 19, Thursday: Nature hike
August 24, Tuesday: Boardwalk trip
August 26, Thursday: Rachel Carson Circumnavigation Cruise
August 31, Tuesday: Nature hike


 

 

Last Modified:June 1, 2010

 

N.C. Division of Coastal Management . 400 Commerce Ave. Morehead City, NC 28557
1-888-4RCOAST .Email Us

 
38319 FEEDBACK

Your input is valuable to us. Please send us your feedback.

What type of feedback would you like to send?*

Ask a Question Report a Problem Have a Concern Make a Comment

(If you would like us to respond please include your phone or e-mail.)

Your Question has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Problem has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Concern has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Comment has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

*If you are a DENR employee with an I.T. issue, please submit a DOTS ticket.