skip to main content | skip to footer
N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources

NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Coastal Management - Rachel Carson Reserve hosts summer field trips

Coastal Management

Web Content Display javax.portlet.title.56

Coastal Management News :: CAMAgram :: Spring 2011

Rachel Carson Reserve hosts summer field tripsField Trip

The Rachel Carson Reserve in Beaufort will be offering public field trips this summer on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 8:30-10:30 a.m. during June, July and August.

During low tides, the trips will be a two-hour nature hike on the reserve focusing on the different habitats and the plants and animals that are found in each. During high tide, a boat ride will take visitors to the boardwalk on Carrot Island. Circumnavigation cruises around the Reserve will allow visitors a chance to view Middle Marsh after a brief stop at the boardwalk. On all three trips, visitors are encouraged to bring sunglasses, hats, binoculars, water and sunscreen.

All programs are open to the public, but reservations are required as boat space is limited. Call (252) 838-0883 to make reservations or for more information.

All trips are from 8:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.

June
June 14, Tuesday:  Boat/boardwalk 8:30-10:30 a.m.
June 16, Thursday:  Boat/boardwalk 8:30-10:30 a.m.
June 21, Tuesday:  Nature hike 8:30-10:30 a.m.
June 23, Thursday:  Nature hike 8:30-10:30 a.m.
June 28, Tuesday:  Boat/boardwalk 8:30-10:30 a.m.
June 30, Thursday:  Circumnavigation cruise 8:30-10:30 a.m.

July
July 5, Tuesday:  Boat/boardwalk 8:30-10:30 a.m.
July 7, Thursday:  Nature hike 8:30-10:30 a.m.
July 12, Tuesday:  Nature hike 8:30-10:30 a.m.
July 14, Thursday:  Circumnavigation cruise 8:30-10:30 a.m.
July 19, Tuesday:  Boat/boardwalk 8:30-10:30 a.m.
July 21, Thursday:  Nature hike 8:30-10:30 a.m.
July 26, Tuesday:  Boat/boardwalk 8:30-10:30 a.m.
July 28, Thursday:  Circumnavigation cruise 8:30-10:30 a.m.

August
August 2, Tuesday:  Boat/boardwalk 8:30-10:30 a.m.
August 4, Thursday:  Boat/boardwalk 8:30-10:30 a.m.
August 9, Tuesday:  Nature hike 8:30-10:30 a.m.
August 11, Thursday:  Circumnavigation cruise 8:30-10:30 a.m.
August 16, Tuesday:  Boat/boardwalk 8:30-10:30 a.m.
August 18, Thursday:  Boat/boardwalk 8:30-10:30 a.m.
August 23, Tuesday:  Nature hike 8:30-10:30 a.m.
August 25, Thursday:  Nature hike 8:30-10:30 a.m.
August 30, Tuesday:  Circumnavigation cruise 8:30-10:30 a.m.

Last Modified: May 24, 2011

N.C. Division of Coastal Management . 400 Commerce Ave . Morehead City, NC 28557
1-888-4RCOAST . Email Us

 
38319 FEEDBACK

Your input is valuable to us. Please send us your feedback.

What type of feedback would you like to send?*

Ask a Question Report a Problem Have a Concern Make a Comment

(If you would like us to respond please include your phone or e-mail.)

Your Question has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Problem has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Concern has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Comment has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

*If you are a DENR employee with an I.T. issue, please submit a DOTS ticket.