skip to main content | skip to footer
N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources

NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Coastal Management - Local Permit Officers

Coastal Management

Local Permit Officers

Northern Section |Northeastern Section |Central Section |Southern Section

NORTHERN SECTION

DISTRICT MANAGER: David Moye
FIELD OFFICERS: Steve Trowell; Kelly Spivey (LPO Coordinator); David Moye (Express Permit Coordinator)
COMPLIANCE COORDINATOR: Vacant
SECRETARY: Sherry Tyson
DENR, Washington Regional Office
943 Washington Square Mall
Washington, NC 27889
COURIER: 16-04-01
TELEPHONE: (252) 946-6481
FAX: (252) 975-3716
JURISDICTION: [by county, including all towns within these counties: Beaufort, Bertie, Hertford, Hyde, Tyrrell, Washington]

BEAUFORT COUNTY:

(Permits in Beaufort County, except for the City of Washington, are written by DCM Washington Field Office)

CITY OF WASHINGTON
P. O. Box 1988
Washington, NC  27889-1988
TELEPHONE:  (252) 975-9304
FAX:  (252) 946-1965
LPO:  Allen Pittman
E-mail: apittman@washingtonnc.gov

BERTIE COUNTY:

COUNTY OF BERTIE
P. O. Box 530
Windsor, NC  27983
TELEPHONE:  (252) 794-5303
FAX:  (252) 794-5361
LPO:  G. T. Pittman, Traci White, Sandy Bryant
E-mail: gt.pittman@bertie.nc.govtraci.white@bertie.nc.govsandy.h.bryant@bertie.nc.gov

HERTFORD COUNTY:

COUNTY OF HERTFORD
Building Inspector's Office
P. O. Box 424
Winton, NC  27986
TELEPHONE:  (252) 358-7814
FAX:  (252) 358-7806
LPO: Paul Vaughan
E-mail: paul.vaughan@hertfordcounty.nc.gov

HYDE COUNTY:

COUNTY OF HYDE
(Permits written by Washington DCM Field Office)

TYRRELL COUNTY:

(Permits written by DCM Washington Field Office)

WASHINGTON COUNTY:

(Permits written by DCM Washington Field Office)

NORTHEASTERN SECTION

DISTRICT MANAGER: Frank Jennings
FIELD OFFICERS: Kelly Russell; Ron Renaldi (District LPO Coordinator); Will Creef; Lynn Mathis (District Compliance & Enforcement Representative); Vacant (NCDOT Project Coordinator)

DISTRICT PLANNER: Charlan Owens
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT: Yvonne Carver
DCM, Elizabeth City District Office
1367 U.S. Hwy. 17 South
Elizabeth City, NC 27909
TELEPHONE: (252) 264-3901
FAX: (252) 264-3723
JURISDICTION: [by county, including all towns within these counties: Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Pasquotank, Perquimans]

CAMDEN COUNTY:

(Permits written by DCM Elizabeth City Field Office)

CHOWAN COUNTY:

COUNTY OF CHOWAN
P.O. Box 1030
Edenton, NC 27932
LPO: Holly Colombo, Kent Pierce
TELEPHONE: (252) 482-5618
FAX: (252) 482-5697
E-mail: holly.colombo@chowan.nc.gov

CURRITUCK COUNTY:

COUNTY OF CURRITUCK
P. O. Box 70
Currituck, NC  27929
LPO: Stacey Smith, Tiffany Sanders
TELEPHONE: Stacey (inspections): (252) 232-6027; Tiffany (permits): (252) 232-6026
FAX:  (252) 232-3026
Email: Stacey.Smith@CurrituckCountyNC.govTiffany.Sanders@CurrituckCountyNC.gov 

CURRITUCK COUNTY INSPECTIONS OFFICE (satellite office)
P. O. Box 73
Corolla, NC  27927
LPO:  Jennie Turner
TELEPHONE:  (252) 453-8555
FAX:  (252) 453-8300
E-mail: Jennie.Turner@CurrituckCountyNC.gov  

DARE COUNTY:

COUNTY OF DARE
P.O. Box 1000
Manteo, NC 27954
LPO: Armelle Minton, Corky Whitehead, Fred Featherstone, I.G. Scarborough
TELEPHONE: Armelle (252) 475-5871; Corky: (252) 475-5879; Fred: (252) 475-5867; I.G. (252) 475-5877
FAX: (252) 449-0207
E-mail: Armelle@darenc.com

TOWN OF DUCK
P. O. Box 8369
Duck, NC  27949
LPO: Andy Garman, Sandy Cross (ext. 226)
TELEPHONE: (252) 255-1234
FAX: (252) 255-1236
Email: agarman@townofduck.com scross@townofduck.com

TOWN OF NAGS HEAD
P.O. Box 99
Nags Head, NC 27959
LPO:  Mr. Kim Allen (252) 449-6046; David Morton, Kelly Wyatt, Lily Nieberding
TELEPHONE:  (252) 441-5508 (or) 441-7016
FAX:  (252) 441-7290
Email: kim.allen@nagsheadnc.govdavid.morton@nagsheadnc.govKelly.wyatt@nagsheadnc.gov
lily.nieberding@nagsheadnc.gov

TOWN OF SOUTHERN SHORES
5375 N. Virginia Dare Trail
Southern Shores, NC  27949
LPO: Dabni Shelton & Wes Haskett
TELEPHONE: (252) 261-2394
FAX: (252) 255-0876
E-mail: dshelton@southernshores-nc.govwhaskett@southernshores-nc.gov

TOWN OF KILL DEVIL HILLS
P.O. Box 1719
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
LPO: Donna Elliott, Meredith Guns, Bryan Brightbill
TELEPHONE:  (252) 449-5310
FAX:  (252) 441-4102
Email: meredith@kdhnc.comdonna@kdhnc.combryan@kdhnc.com

TOWN OF KITTY HAWK
P. O. Box 549
Kitty Hawk, NC  27949
LPO: Joe Heard, Ben Alexander
TELEPHONE:  (252) 261-3552
FAX:  (252) 261-7900
Email: jheard@kittyhawktown.netbalexander@kittyhawktown.net

GATES COUNTY:

(Permits written by DCM Elizabeth City Field Office)

PASQUOTANK COUNTY:

COUNTY OF PASQUOTANK
(Permits written by DCM Elizabeth City Field Office)

CITY OF ELIZABETH CITY
P. O. Box 347
Elizabeth City, NC  27909
LPO: David Lewis, Brent Thornton, Stanley Ward
TELEPHONE:  (252) 337-6868
FAX:  (252) 338-1857
E-mail: dlewis@cityofec.combthornton@cityofec.com
sward@cityofec.com

PERQUIMANS COUNTY:

COUNTY OF PERQUIMANS
(Permits written by Elizabeth City DCM Field Office)

CENTRAL SECTION

DIRECTOR: Braxton Davis
DISTRICT MANAGER: Roy Brownlow
FIELD OFFICERS: Brad Connell; Heather Styron; Ryan Davenport (District Compliance & Enforcement Representative); Stephen Lane (Transportation Projects)
COMPLIANCE COORDINATOR: Ryan Davenport
DISTRICT PLANNER: Maureen Meehan 
DIRECTOR'S SECRETARY: Angela Willis
OFFICE MANAGER: Ronda Bennett

DCM, Morehead City Headquarters
400 Commerce Ave.
Morehead City, NC 28557
COURIER: 11-12-09
TELEPHONE: (252) 808-2808
FAX: (252) 247-3330
JURISDICTION: [by county, including all towns within these counties: Carteret, Craven, Onslow (mainland), Pamlico]

CARTERET COUNTY:

TOWN OF ATLANTIC BEACH
P. O. Box 10
Atlantic Beach, NC  28512
LPO: Jessica Fiester, Donna Turner, Kim Tynes, Joseph Starling
TELEPHONE:  (252) 726-4456
FAX:  (252) 727-7043
Email: planner@atlanticbeach-nc.com (Jessica); inspectionsadmin@atlanticbeach-nc.com (Kim)
 nspectionsdirector@atlanticbeach-nc.com (Donna), Inspector@atlanticbeach-nc.com (Joseph)

COUNTY OF CARTERET
Planning & Inspections, Courthouse Square
Beaufort, NC 28516
LPO: Jim Jennings/Director, Larry Smith, J. D. O’Neal, Sammy Graham, Kathy Richardson, Melissa Flynn (P/T Admin/Receptionist)
TELEPHONE:  (252) 728-8545
FAX:  (252) 728-6643
E-mail: jimj@carteretcountygov.orgjdoneal@carteretcountygov.org
kathyr@carteretcountygov.orglarrys@carteretcountygov.orgsammyg@carteretcountygov.org

WESTERN OFFICE: Tracy Barnes, Jim Stipe, Sheila Slater, Joe Rotchford
TELEPHONE: (252) 393-3204
FAX: (252) 393-3205
Email: tracyb@carteretcountygov.orgjims@carteretcountygov.org
joer@carteretcountygov.org;  sheila.slater@carteretcountygov.org

TOWN OF CAPE CARTERET
102 Dolphin Street
Cape Carteret, NC 28584
LPO: Brandon Hawkes
TELEPHONE: (252) 393-7901
FAX: (252) 393-6799
E-mail: Inspections@townofcapecarteret.com

TOWN OF EMERALD ISLE
7500 Emerald Drive
Emerald Isle, NC 28594
LPO: Jim Taylor, Kevin Reed, Peggy Grammer
TELEPHONE: (252) 354-3338
FAX: (252) 354-5387
E-mail: jtaylor@emeraldisle-nc.orgkreed@emeraldisle-nc.org
pgrammer@emeraldisle-nc.org

TOWN OF MOREHEAD CITY
706 Arendell St.
Morehead City, NC 28557
LPO:Dean Lombreglia, Jeannie Vaughan, Linda Staab, Patrick O'Mahoney
TELEPHONE: (252) 726-6848
FAX: (252) 726-2267
Email: deanl@bizec.rr.comjeanniev@bizec.rr.comlindastaab@bizec.rr.com,
mczoning@bizec.rr.com

TOWN OF PINE KNOLL SHORES
100 Municipal Circle
Pine Knoll Shores, NC 28512
LPO: Linda Brickhouse, Chris Jones
TELEPHONE: (252) 247-4353, ext. 20
FAX: (252) 247-4355
E-mail: lbrickhouse@townofpks.comcjones@townofpks.com

CRAVEN COUNTY:

COUNTY OF CRAVEN
Human Services Complex
2824 Neuse Blvd.
New Bern, NC 28562
LPO: Chad Strawn, Jason Frederick, Catherine Grimm, Donnie LaVelle, Ashley Wiggins 
TELEPHONE:  (252) 636-6618
FAX:  (252) 636-5190
E-mail: cstrawn@cravencountync.govjfrederick@cravencountync.gov
cgrimm@cravencountync.govdlavelle@cravencountync.gov
awiggins@cravencountync.gov

CITY OF NEW BERN
P.O. Box 1129
New Bern, NC 28563
LPO:John Clark, Ron Ipock, Alton Ray Wilson
TELEPHONE: (252) 639-2941
FAX: (252) 635-4973
E-mail: clarkj@newbern-nc.orgipockr@newbern-nc.orgwilsona@newbern-nc.org

TOWN OF RIVERBEND
45 Shoreline Drive
River Bend, NC  28562
LPO: Chris Harmon and Drew Havens
Tele: (252) 638-3870 Ext. 216; Cell: (252) 229-7329 (Chris), (252) 571-2400
Email: zoning@riverbendnc.orgmanager@riverbendnc.org

ONSLOW COUNTY:

COUNTY OF ONSLOW (above New River Inlet)
604 College Street
Jacksonville, NC 28540
LPO: Andrea Frazier
TELEPHONE: (910)347-6782
FAX: (910) 347-5759
E-mail: andrea_frazier@co.onslow.nc.us

CITY OF JACKSONVILLE (above New River Inlet)
P.O. Box 128
Jacksonville, NC 28541-0128
LPO: Pat Donovan-Potts, Jeanette Hall, Tami Dubois, Heather Herrmann
TELEPHONE:  (910) 938-5235
FAX: (910) 938-5208
E-mail: pdonovan-potts@ci.jacksonville.nc.usjhall@ci.jacksonville.nc.us
tdubois@ci.jacksonville.nc.ushherrmann@ci.jacksonville.nc.us

PAMLICO COUNTY:

COUNTY OF PAMLICO
P.O. Box 776
Bayboro, NC 28515
LPO: Skip Lee, Jolene Sawyer, Ray Bennett
TELEPHONE: (252) 745-3861
FAX: (252) 745-7067
E-mail: pamlicobi@yahoo.com

SOUTHERN SECTION

DISTRICT MANAGER: Debbie Wilson
FIELD OFFICERS: Debbie Wilson (District LPO Coordinator); Heather Coats; Holley Snider; Robb Mairs; Jason Dail
DISTRICT PLANNER: Mike Christenbury
ENVIRONMENTAL TECHNICIAN: Shaun Simpson (District LPO Assistance)
COMPLIANCE & ENFORCEMENT: Tara MacPherson
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT: Patricia Hay
DENR, Wilmington Regional Office
127 Cardinal Drive Extension
Wilmington, NC 28405-3845
COURIER: 04-16-33
TELEPHONE: 910-796-7215
FAX: (910) 350-2004
JURISDICTION: [by county, including all towns within these counties: Brunswick, New Hanover, Onslow (beach towns), Pender]

BRUNSWICK COUNTY:

COUNTY OF BRUNSWICK
P.O. Box 249
Bolivia, NC 28422
LPO: Connie Marlowe
TELEPHONE: (910) 253-2025 or 1-800-621-0609
FAX: (910) 253-2024
E-mail: cmarlowe@brunsco.net

VILLAGE OF BALD HEAD ISLAND
P.O. Box 3009
Bald Head Island, NC 28461
LPO: Chris McCall,Stephen Boyett 
TELEPHONE: (910) 457-9700 or (910) 457-6255
FAX: (910) 457-6206
E-mail: cmccallvbhi@bellsouth.netsboyett@villagebhi.org

TOWN OF CALABASH
P.O. Box 4967
Calabash, NC 28467
LPO: Stanley Dills, Barbra Hagan
TELEPHONE:  (910) 579-0500
FAX:  (910) 579-5495
E-Mail: bicalabash@atmc.net (Stanley), towncalabash@atmc.net (Barbra)

TOWN OF CASWELL BEACH
(Permits written by DCM Wilmington Field Office)

TOWN OF HOLDEN BEACH
110 Rothschild Street
Holden Beach, NC 28462
LPO: Rhonda Wooten
TELEPHONE: (910) 842-6080
FAX: (910) 842-9315
E-mail: rhonda.wooten@hbtownhall.com

TOWN OF OAK ISLAND
4601 E. Oak Island Dr.
Oak Island, NC  28465
LPO: Donna Coleman, Steve Edwards, Julie Edge
TELEPHONE: (910) 278-5024
FAX: (910) 278-1811
E-Mail: sedwards@ci.oak-island.nc.usjedge@ci.oak-island.nc.us
dcoleman@ci.oak-island.nc.us

TOWN OF OCEAN ISLE BEACH
Ocean Isle Beach Town Hall
3 West Third Street
Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
LPO: Justin Whiteside, Larry Cook
TELEPHONE: (910) 579-3469
FAX: (910) 579-2940
E-mail: jwhiteside@oibgov.comlarry@oibgov.com

TOWN OF SHALLOTTE
(Permits written by Holley Snider, Wilmington DCM Office, 910-796-7270)

CITY OF SOUTHPORT
1029 N. Howe St., Suite 100B
Southport, NC 28461
LPO: Wayne Strickland
TELEPHONE: (910) 457-7900
FAX: (910) 457-7905
E-mail: Wayne_Strickland@southportnc.org

TOWN OF SUNSET BEACH
220 Shoreline Drive West
Sunset Beach, NC 28459
LPO:  Randy Walters
TELEPHONE:  (910) 579-0068 or 579-0075
FAX:  (910) 579-1840
E-mail: randywalters@atmc.net

NEW HANOVER COUNTY:

COUNTY OF NEW HANOVER
Inspections Dept.
New Hanover County Administration Annex
230 Market Place Drive, Suite 110
Wilmington, NC 28403
LPO: Steven Still, Patricia Roberts, Christine Bouffard, Linda Painter
Administrative Assistant: Denise Brown
TELEPHONE:  (910) 798-7118
FAX:  (910) 798-7060
E-mail  sstill@nhcgov.comproberts@nhcgov.comcbouffard@nhcgov.com
lpainter@nhcgov.comhamoore@nhcgov.com,dbrown@nhcgov.com

TOWN OF CAROLINA BEACH
1121 N. Lake Park Boulevard
Carolina Beach, NC  28428
LPO:  Jeremy Hardison, Richard Lang
TELEPHONE:  (910) 458-2999 (Planning Dept.) 458-7947
FAX:  (910) 458-2997
E-mail: jeremy.hardison@carolinabeach.orgrichard.lang@carolinabeach.org

TOWN OF KURE BEACH
117 Settlers Lane
Kure Beach, NC  28449
LPO:  John J. Batson
TELEPHONE:  (910) 458-8216
FAX:  (910) 458-7421
E-mail: johnbatson@townofkurebeach.org

TOWN OF WRIGHTSVILLE BEACH
P.O. Box 626
Wrightsville Beach, NC  28480
LPO: Tony Wilson, Bill Squires, Zachary Steffey
TELEPHONE:  (910) 509-5019
FAX:  (910) 256-6848
E-mail: twilson@towb.orgbsquires@towb.org, zsteffey@towb.org

ONSLOW COUNTY:

CITY OF JACKSONVILLE
P.O. Box 128
Jacksonville, NC 28540
LPO: Pat Donovan-Potts, Jeanette Hall, Tami Dubois, Heather Herrmann
TELEPHONE:  (910) 938-5235 or 938-5396
FAX:  (910) 938-5208
E-mail: pdonovan-potts@ci.jacksonville.nc.usjhall@ci.jacksonville.nc.us
tdubois@ci.jacksonville.nc.ushherrmann@ci.jacksonville.nc.us

COUNTY OF ONSLOW
604 College Street
Jacksonville, NC 28540
LPO: Sue McLaughlin, Sammie Rogers, Gregory Smith, Ruben Ortiz
TELEPHONE:(910) 455-3661, x3086
FAX:(910) 347-5759
E-mail: sue_mclaughlin@onslowcountync.gov,sammie.rogers@onslowcountync.gov,  gregory_smith@onslowcountync.govruben_ortiz@onslowcountync.gov

PENDER COUNTY:

COUNTY OF PENDER
P. O. Box 1519
Burgaw, NC  28425
LPO: Ken Vafier, Ashley Frank, Benjamin Andrea, Ashley Moncado
TELEPHONE:  (910) 259-1202
FAX:  (910) 259-1295
Email: kvafier@pendercountync.govafrank@pendercountync.gov
bandrea@pendercountync.govamoncado@pendercountync.gov

TOWN OF HOLLY RIDGE   
P. O. Box 145   
Holly Ridge, NC 28445   
LPO: Larry Willaford; Randall Gray   
TELEPHONE: (910) 329-7081; FAX: (910)329-1593   
E-Mail: larryWwillaford@yahoo.com

TOWN OF SURF CITY 
TOWN OF TOPSAIL BEACH 
TOWN OF NORTH TOPSAIL BEACH
(Jason Dail:  Wilmington DCM Office)
(
910) 796-7221 

38319 FEEDBACK

Your input is valuable to us. Please send us your feedback.

What type of feedback would you like to send?*

Ask a Question Report a Problem Have a Concern Make a Comment

(If you would like us to respond please include your phone or e-mail.)

Your Question has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Problem has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Concern has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Comment has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

*If you are a DENR employee with an I.T. issue, please submit a DOTS ticket.