skip to main content | skip to footer
North Carolina Department of Environment Quality

NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership - APNEP- STAC Members

Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership

STAC Members Page

July 2014 STAC photo
August 2016

STAC Executive Board Membership
Name & Affiliation Contact Info Bio Term Action Team Assignment(s) Monitoring & Assessment Team Assignment(s)
W. Judson Kenworthy, STAC Co-Chair
National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (Ret.)
Center for Coastal Fisheries and Habitat Research
(252) 646-9174
jud.kenworthy@gmail.com
 2016-2019  Submerged Aquatic Vegetation Strategies  Submerged Aquatic Vegetation (Lead)
Burrell E. Montz, STAC Co-Chair
East Carolina University
Department of Geography
(252) 328-6086
montzb@ecu.edu
 2017-2020  Natural Resource Policy & Economics  Human Dimensions
R. Wilson Laney
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
South Atlantic Fisheries Coordination Office
(919) 515-5019
wilson_laney@fws.gov
 2015-2018  Freshwater Habitats & Fish Passage  Aquatic Fauna (Lead)
Michael F. Piehler
University of North Carolina
Institute of Marine Sciences
(252) 726-6841 Ext. 160
mpiehler@email.unc.edu
 2016-2019  Ecological Flows, Contaminant Management  Wetland Resources
Jessica C. Whitehead
North Carolina Sea Grant
(919) 515-2454
jcwhite4@ncsu.edu
 2017-2020  Engagement & Stewardship  Air Resources

 

STAC General Membership
Name & Affiliation Contact Info Bio Term Action Team Assignment(s) Monitoring & Assessment Team Assignment(s)
Marcelo L. Ardón
North Carolina State University
Department of Forestry & Environmental Resources
(919) 515-5574
mlardons@ncsu.edu
 2017-2020  Restoration Strategies, Contaminant Management  Wetland Resources
Lee Bodkin
US Geological Survey
South Atlantic Water Science Center
(919) 571-4024
ljbodkin@usgs.gov
 2017-2018  Contaminant Management  Water Resources
Johnny L. Boggs
USDA Forest Service
Eastern Forest Environmental Threat Assessment Center
(919) 513-2973
jboggs@fs.fed.us
 2015-2018  Water Quality Improvement  Water Resources, Terrestrial Resources
Brian P. Boutin
The Nature Conservancy
North Carolina Chapter
(252) 441-2525, ext. 6
bboutin@tnc.org
 2017-2019  Living Shorelines, Freshwater Habitats & Fish Passage, Oyster Habitat Restoration, Restoration Strategies, Submerged Aquatic Vegetation  Aquatic Fauna
D. Reide Corbett
East Carolina University
Department of Geology
Institute for Interdisciplinary Coastal Sciences and Policy
(252) 328-1367
corbettd@ecu.edu
 2015-2018  Living Shorelines  Terrestrial Resources
James "Bo" Dame
Chowan University
Department of Biology
(252) 398-6261
damej@chowan.edu
 2017-2020  Restoration Strategies  Wetland Resources
Heather Jacobs Deck
Sound Rivers
(252) 946-7211 x102
pamtarrk@soundrivers.org
 2017-2020 Engagement & Stewardship, Contaminant Management, Natural Resource Policy & Economics  Water Resources
Robin L. Dennis
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (Ret.)
Office of Research and Development
Atmospheric Modeling Division
(919) 933-6905
dennis.robin@epa.gov
 2017-2020  Contaminant Management  Air Resources
Randall Etheridge
East Carolina University
Department of Engineering
Center for Sustainability
(252) 737-1930
etheridgej15@ecu.edu
 2017-2018  Water Quality Improvements, Ecological Flows  Water Resources
Donald W. Field
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Center for Coastal Fisheries and Habitat Research
(252) 728-8770
don.field@noaa.gov
 2016-2019  Submerged Aquatic Vegetation Strategies  Submerged Aquatic Vegetation
Jesse Fischer
North Carolina State University
Department of Applied Ecology
North Carolina Fish & Wildlife Cooperative Unit
(919) 515-4594
jessefischer@gmail.com
 2016-2018  Freshwater Habitats & Fish Passage  Aquatic Fauna
Erin Fleckenstein
North Carolina Coastal Federation
Northern Regional Office
(252) 473-1607
erinf@nccoast.org
 2016-2019  Restoration Strategies, Oyster Habitat Restoration  Aquatic Fauna
F. Joel Fodrie
University of North Carolina
Institute of Marine Sciences
(252) 726-6841 Ext. 149
jfodrie@email.unc.edu
 2016-2019  Oyster Habitat Restoration  Aquatic Fauna
Timothy A. Goodale
Elizabeth City State University
Department of Education, Pyschology & Health
(252) 335-3767
tagoodale@ecsu.edu
 2017-2020  Engagement & Stewardship

 Human Dimensions

Kirk J. Havens
College of William & Mary
Virginia Institute of Marine Science
Center for Coastal Resources Management
(804) 684-7386
kirk@vims.edu
 2017-2020  Policy Board Chair  Wetland Resources
Jacob P. Hochard
East Carolina University
Department of Economics
Institute for Coastal Science & Policy
(252) 328-6383
hochardj15@ecu.edu
 2017-2019  Natural Resource Policy & Economics  Human Dimensions
John S. Iiames
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Office of Research and Development
Environmental Sciences Division
(919) 541-3039
iiames.john@epa.gov
 2016-2018  Decision Support Tools  Terrestrial Resources
Peter I. Kalla
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Science & Ecosystems Support Division
(706) 355-8778
kalla.peter@epa.gov
 2015-2018  Restoration Strategies  Wetland Resources
Robert K. Miller
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point (Ret.)
Department of Forestry
(252) 249-2827
sailingbob.bob@gmail.com
 2015-2018  Invasives  Terrestrial Resources
Siddhartha Mitra
East Carolina University
Department of Geological Sciences
(252) 328-6611
mitras@ecu.edu
 2015-2018  Contaminant Management

 Water Resources, Air Resources

Michelle C. Moorman
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, Mattamuskeet, Swanquarter, Cedar Island National Wildlife Refuge
252-926-4021 Ext. 30 
michelle_moorman@fws.gov
 2017-2020  Contaminant Management  Water Resources (Lead)
Rua S. Mordecai
South Atlantic Landscape Conservation Cooperative
(919) 707-0122
rua_mordecai@fws.gov
 2015-2018  Decision Support Tools  Terrestrial Resources
Rachel T. Noble
University of North Carolina
Institute of Marine Sciences
(252) 726-8641 Ext. 150
rtnoble@email.unc.edu
 2017-2020  Water Quality Improvements  Water Resources
Daniel R. Obenour
North Carolina State University
Department of Civil, Construction, & Environmental Engineering
(919) 515-7702
drobenour@ncsu.edu
 2017-2019  Contaminant Management  Water Resources
Hans W. Paerl
University of North Carolina
Institute of Marine Sciences
(252) 726-8641 Ext. 133
hans_paerl@unc.edu
 2016-2019  Contaminant Management  Water Resources
Curtis J. Richardson
Duke University
Division of Environmental Sciences and Policy
(919) 613-8006
curtr@duke.edu
 2017-2020  Restoration Strategies, Contaminant Management  Wetland Resources
Christopher M. Snow
Wake County
Parks, Recreation, and Open Space
(919) 856-6677
csnow@wakegov.com
 2016-2018  Engagement & Stewardship  Human Dimensions
J. Greg Taylor
U.S. Natural Resources Conservation Service
Soil Survey Division
(919) 873-2170
j.greg.taylor@nc.usda.gov
 2017-2020  Restoration Strategies  Terrestrial Resources
Heidi M. Wadman
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Field Research Facility
(252) 261-6840 x244
FRF.Wadman@gmail.com
 2016-2019  Living Shorelines  Water Resources
Douglas J. Wakeman
Meredith University (Ret.)
School of Business

(984) 234-2571
doug.wakeman@earthlink.net

 2017-2020  Natural Resource Policy & Economics  Human Dimensions
G. Rich Whittecar
Old Dominion University
Department of Ocean, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences

(757) 683-5197
rwhittec@odu.edu

 2016-2019  Contaminant Management  Terrestrial Resources
Staff Support
Name Contact Info
Dean E. Carpenter
Program Scientist
Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership
(919) 707-8634
Dean.Carpenter@apnep.org

 

61563 FEEDBACK

Your input is valuable to us. Please send us your feedback.

What type of feedback would you like to send?*

Ask a Question Report a Problem Have a Concern Make a Comment

(If you would like us to respond please include your phone or e-mail.)

Your Question has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Problem has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Concern has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Comment has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

*If you are a DENR employee with an I.T. issue, please submit a DOTS ticket.