skip to main content | skip to footer
N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources

NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Program - Monitoring & Assessment Teams

Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Program

 APNEP Natural Resource Monitoring & Assessment Teams

Two of the four phases of sustainability practice, “Monitoring” and “Assessment”, help ensure that APNEP Partners have regular, reliable decision support as to whether CCMP Outcomes and Actions are being achieved. To leverage program capacity and promote partner collaboration when implementing these two crucial phases, APNEP established Natural Resource Monitoring & Assessment Teams whose mission themes reflect six of the nine modules of the Albemarle-Pamlico Regional Ecosystem Model (first meeting in parentheses):

Each resource team is composed of volunteers from state agencies, current and former STAC members, plus other scientists and technologists from APNEP partner organizations (select link above to see roster of team members). Terms of volunteer service are open-ended. In-person meetings are scheduled on an as-needed basis.

A seventh team, Monitoring & Assessment Integration, is responsible for developing and refining the APNEP monitoring and assessment integrative frameworks, plus addressing themes from the remaining three modules (Land Cover, Material Balances, Species Introductions & Removals) as well as addressing any additional cross-resource issues for the A-P regional ecosystem. The integration team is composed of the team lead of each six resource teams plus others with cross-cutting expertise (e.g., remote sensing, monitoring design, statistics). While the role of the integration team has been filled during the interim by the STAC Executive Board, this team held its inaugural meeting in July 2011.

Living and Aquatic Resources Team

Name Organization Contact
Christine Jensen NC-DENR-DMF christine.jensen@ncdenr.gov
Kathy Rawls NC-DENR-DMF kathy.rawls@ncdenr.gov
Jill Paxson NC-DENR-DWR jill.paxson@ncdenr.gov
Jeff Bruton NC-DENR-DWR jeff.bruton@ncdenr.gov
Judith Ratcliffe NC-DENR-NHP judith.ratcliffe@ncdenr.gov
Rob Nichols NC-WRC rob.nichols@ncwildlife.org
Darren Loomis VA-NHP darren.loomis@dcr.virginia.gov
Eric Brittle VA-DGIF eric.brittle@dgif.virginia.gov
Chad Boyce VA-DGIF chad.boyce@dgif.virginia.gov
Roger Everton VA-DEQ roger.everton@deq.virginia.gov
Mark Alling VA-DEQ msalling@deq.virginia.gov
Jim Wesson VA-MRC jim.wesson@mrc.virginia.gov
Jay Woodward VA-MRC jay.woodward@mrc.virginia.gov
Darryl Keith US-EPA keith.darryl@epa.gov
Wilson Laney US-FWS wilson_laney@fws.gov
Sarah McRae US-FWS sarah_mcrae@fws.gov
Tom Cuffney USGS-NC tcuffney@usgs.gov
Jud Kenworthy US-NOAA (Retired) jud.kenworthy@gmail.com
Chris Taylor US-NOAA chris.taylor@noaa.gov
Joe Luczkovich ECU luczkovichj@ecu.edu
David Kimmel ECU kimmeld@ecu.edu
Milo Pyne NatureServe milo_pyne@naturserve.org
Erin Fleckenstein NCCF erinf@nccoast.org
Dick Hamilton NC Wildlife Federation dick@ncwf.org
Joel Fodrie UNC-CH-IMS jfodrie@unc.edu
Robert Diaz CWM-VIMS diaz@vims.edu

 

Water Resources Team

Name Organization Contact
Shannon Jenkins NC-DENR-DMF shannon.jenkins@ncdenr.gov
Jay Frick NC-DENR-DWR jay.frick@ncdenr.gov
Jay Sauber NC-DENR-DWR jay.sauber@ncdenr.gov
John Fear NC-DENR-NERR john.fear@ncdenr.gov
David Jones NC-DACS-FS david.jones@ncagr.gov
Robert Croonenberghs VA-DEH bob.croonenberghs@vdh.virginia.gov
Mark Alling VA-DEQ msalling@deq.virginia.gov
Roger Everton VA-DEQ roger.everton@deq.virginia.gov
William Keeling VA-DCR william.keeling@dcr.virginia.gov
Heidi Wadman US-ACE heidi.m.wadman@usace.army.mil
Ed Decker US-EPA decker.ed@epa.gov
Tom Augspurger US-FWS tom_augspurger@fws.gov
Joe DeVivo US-NPS joe_devivo@nps.gov
Tim Spruill USGS-NC (Retired) tspruill@usgs.gov
Sylvia Terziotti USGS-NC seterzio@usgs.gov
Len Balthis US-NOAA len.balthis@noaa.gov
Chris Taylor US-NOAA chris.taylor@noaa.gov 
Shay Viehman US-NOAA shay.viehman@noaa.gov 
Don Stanley ECU (Retired) stanleyd@ecu.edu
Robert Reed NCSU rereed@unity.ncsu.edu
Lindsay Dubbs UNC-CH lindsay.dubbs@gmail.com
Hans Paerl UNC-CH hans_paerl@unc.edu
Larry Baldwin Waterkeeper Alliance larry.baldwin56@gmail.com

 

Wetland Resources Team

Name Organization Contact
TBD NC-DENR-DCM  
Rick Savage NC-DENR-DWR rick.savage@ncdenr.gov
Rob Breeding NC-DENR-EEP rob.breeding@ncdenr.gov
Michael Schafale NC-DENR-NHP michael schafale@ncdenr.gov
Dale Davis NC-WRC dale.davis@ncwildlife.org
David Jones NC-DACS-FS david.jones@ncagr.gov
Pete Kalla US-EPA kalla.peter@epa.gov
Dorsey Worthy US-EPA worthy.dorsey@epa.gov
John Stanton US-FWS john_stanton@fws.gov
Don Field US-NOAA don.field@noaa.gov
Chuck Wilson US-ACE charles.r.wilson@saw02.usace.army.mil
Curt Richardson Duke University curtr@duke.edu
Enrique Reyes ECU reyese@ecu.edu
Marcelo Ardon ECU ardonsayaom@ecu.edu
Mike Piehler UNC-CH + UNC-CSI mpiehler@email.unc.edu
Kirk Havens VIMS kirk@vims.edu
John Hefner Atkins john.hefner@atkinsglobal.com
Larry Baldwin Waterkeeper Alliance larry.baldwin56@gmail.com

 

Terrestrial Resources Team

Name Organization Contact
TBD NC-DENR-DCM  
Jon Blanchard NC-DENR-DPR jon.blanchard@ncdenr.gov
John Holley NC-DENR-DEMLR john.holley@ncdenr.gov
Rob Breeding NC-DENR-EEP rob.breeding@ncdenr.gov
Charles Yelton NC-DENR-MNS charles.yelton@ncdenr.gov
Michael Schafale NC-DENR-NHP michael.schafale@ncdenr.gov
Dale Davis NC-WRC dale.davis@ncwildlife.org
Natalie Woolard NC-DACS-AS-SWC natalie.woolard@ncagr.gov
David Jones NC-DACS-FS david.jones@ncagr.gov
Gordon Cashin NC-DOT gcashin@ncdot.gov
John Iiames US-EPA iiames.john@epa.gov
John Stanton US-FWS John_Stanton@fws.gov
Michael Rikard US-NPS Michael_Rikard@nps.gov
Randy Swilling US-NPS William_Swilling@nps.gov
Silvia Terziotti USGS seterzio@usgs.gov
Ken Stolte USFS (Retired) kstolte@fs.fed.us
Matt Flint NRCS matt.flint@nc.usda.gov
Rua Mordecai South Atlantic Landscape Conservation Cooperative rua_mordecai@fws.gov
Stan Riggs ECU riggss@ecu.edu
Dave Mallinson ECU mallinsond@ecu.edu
Reide Corbett ECU corbettd@ecu.edu
Wayne Robarge NCSU wayne_robarge@ncsu.edu
Helena Mitasova NCSU helena_mitasova@ncsu.edu
Nancy White UNC-CSI nmwhite@csi.northcarolina.edu
Tony Rodriguez UNC-CH abrodrig@email.unc.edu
Aaron Moody UNC-CH aaronm@email.unc.edu
John Taggart UNC-W taggartj@uncw.edu
Milo Pyne NatureServe milo_pyne@natureserve.org
Dick Hamilton NCWF dick@ncwf.org

 

Air Resources Team

Name Organization Contact
Charles Davis NC-DENR-DAQ charles.o.davis@ncdenr.gov
John Fear NC-DENR-NERR john.fear@ncdenr.gov
Ryan Boyles NC-Climate Office ryan_boyles@ncsu.edu
Robin Dennis US-EPA-ORD dennis.robin@epa.gov
John Walker US-EPA-ORD walker.johnt@epa.gov
Dave Whitall US-NOAA-NOS dave.whitall@noaa.gov
Darin Figurskey US-NOAA-NWS darin.figurskey@noaa.gov
Richard Smith UNC-CH rls@email.unc.edu
Wayne Robarge NCSU wayne_robarge@ncsu.edu
Jess Whitehead NC-Sea Grant jessica.whitehead@scseagrant.org

 

Human Dimensions Team

Name Organization Contact
Charles Davis NC-DENR-DAQ charles.o.davis@ncdenr.gov
Jay Frick NC-DENR-DWR jay.frick@ncdenr.gov
Marcia Lieber NC-DENR-DPR marcia.lieber@ncdenr.gov
John Holley NC-DENR-DEMLR john.holley@ncdenr.gov
Mike Lopazanski NC-DENR-DCM Mike.Lopazanski@ncdenr.gov
Ellen Lorscheider NC-DENR-DWM ellen.lorscheider@ncdenr.gov
Matt Matthews NC-DENR-DWR matt.matthews@ncdenr.gov
Dianne Reid NC-DENR-DWR dianne.reid@ncdenr.gov
Harold Brady NC-DENR-DWR harold.m.brady@ncdenr.gov
Rob Breeding NC-DENR-EEP rob.breeding@ncdenr.gov
Linda Pearsall NC-DENR-NHP linda.pearsall@ncdenr.gov
Marty Wiggins NC-DENR-OEE marty.wiggins@ncdenr.gov
John Hadley NC-DENR-DMF john.hadley@ncdenr.gov
Dale Davis NC-WRC dale.davis@ncwildlife.gov
Dianne Farrer NC-DACS-AS-AS dianne.farrer@ncagr.gov
David Harrison NC-DACS-AS-SWC david.harrison@ncagr.gov 
Craig Clarke NC-DACS-FS craig.clarke@ncagr.gov
Allan Sandoval NC-DOC-PRSPD asandoval@nccommerce.com
Steve Gurganus NC-DOT-PDEA-HEU sjgurganus@ncdot.gov
Betsy Smith US-EPA-ORD smith.betsy@epamail.epa.gov
Jerry McMahon US-USGS gmcmahon@usgs.gov
Lisa Campbell Duke University lcampbe@duke.edu
Craig Landry ECU landryc@ecu.edu
Joe Fridgen ECU fridgenj@ecu.edu
Tom Crawford ECU crawfordt@ecu.edu
Laura Taylor NCSU laura_taylor@ncsu.edu
Jack Thigpen NCSU-NCSG jack_thigpen@ncsu.edu
Andy Keeler UNC-CSI agkeeler@csi.northcarolina.edu

 

Web Content Display Web Content Display
61563 FEEDBACK

Your input is valuable to us. Please send us your feedback.

What type of feedback would you like to send?*

Ask a Question Report a Problem Have a Concern Make a Comment

(If you would like us to respond please include your phone or e-mail.)

Your Question has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Problem has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Concern has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Comment has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

*If you are a DENR employee with an I.T. issue, please submit a DOTS ticket.