skip to main content | skip to footer
North Carolina Department of Environment Quality

NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership - Freshwater Habitat & Fish Passage Action Team

Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Freshwater Habitat and Fish Passage Action Team

Overview          Meetings          Members

(Milburnie Dam, Neuse River.  Photo credit: APNEP)

For additional information about this team, please contact APNEP support staff at the links below.

Overview

Members participating with APNEP’s Freshwater Habitat and Fish Passage Action Team will pursue collaborative initiatives aligned with the following APNEP Comprehensive Conservation and Management Plan (CCMP) actions:

  • Action B2.1: Facilitate the development and implementation of an integrated freshwater habitat protection strategy. This protection strategy will complement the Coastal Habitat Protection Plan (CHPP), serving as a guide for inland waters. The plan will be a combined effort between North Carolina and Virginia, and it will include actions that address anadromous fish passage to and from spawning areas.
  • Action B2.4: Facilitate the development of policies to minimize dredge and fill activities in naturalized areas and sensitive habitats. Policies will address direct as well as indirect dredge activities. Over time, the extensive drainage network in several coastal counties has become naturalized and provides important habitats for fish and wildlife. APNEP will work with its partners to ensure that these habitats are considered in maintenance of the network.
  • Action B2.5: Facilitate protection of designated anadromous fish spawning areas and inland primary nursery areas from marina impacts. Consistent with regulations and best practices, new projects should be directed away from or minimize impacts to specially designated areas vital to fishery resources. Marina development in inland waters, if not carefully considered and implemented, can damage valuable estuarine habitats. This action also supports retrofitting at existing facilities to improve aquatic habitat, as well as support for programs that safely dispose of onboard waste that might be discharged in open waters.
  • Action C4.1: Install fish ladders and eel-ways on existing dams and other permanent barriers. Fish ladders and eel-ways can preserve passage across dams that are otherwise providing societal benefits like drinking water supplies or electricity. APNEP will support the construction and maintenance of mechanisms for fish and eel passage around instream barriers.
  • Action C4.2: Facilitate the removal of dams, culverts, and other in-stream barriers. Structures that have surpassed their designed lifespan or intended use will be targeted for removal. In-stream barriers scheduled for replacement also present opportunities to implement technologies that improve fish passage.
  • Action C4.3: Restore degraded anadromous fish spawning habitats. Anadromous fish spawning habitat is dependent on suitable current velocities, adequate dissolved oxygen levels, and low turbidity. APNEP will work to support suitable hydrologic flows and restore submerged aquatic vegetation in streams and rivers that contain anadromous species.
  • Action C4.4: Facilitate research to improve fish passage. APNEP will provide funding and support for research to improve fish passage. In-stream barriers will be studied to identify structures that may potentially be removed. Mechanisms for conveying anadromous species, such as fish ladders, will be considered and targeted for strategic locations.

For a more detailed explanation of these actions, APNEP’s CCMP can be found here.

APNEP staff support: Tim Ellis (primary)

 

Web Content Display Web Content Display

 

Meetings 

Meeting Agenda Notes Meeting Materials

April 25, 2017

NC Wildlife Resources Commission Headquarters
NCSU Centennial Campus, 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC

     

November 30, 2016

NC Wildlife Resources Commission Headquarters
NCSU Centennial Campus, 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC

 

May 28, 2015

US Fish and Wildlife Service Office
551-B Pylon Drive, Raleigh, NC

 

 

Web Content Display Web Content Display

 

Members 

Name Affiliation Email
Brian Boutin (STAC) The Nature Conservancy - North Carolina Chapter bboutin@tnc.org
Eric Brittle V.A. Department of Game & Inland Fisheries eric.brittle@dgif.virginia.gov
Matt Butler Sound Rivers matt@ptrf.org
Mac Currin  N.C. State University (Ret.) maccurrin@gmail.com
Amin Davis N.C. Division of Water Resources amin.davis@ncdenr.gov
Jesse Fischer (STAC)  N.C. State University jessefischer@gmail.com
Casey Knight N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries casey.knight@ncdenr.gov
Wilson Laney (STAC) U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service wilson_laney@fws.gov
Jeremy McCargo N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission  jeremy.mccargo@ncwildlife.org
Cam Mcnutt N.C. Division of Water Resources cam.mcnutt@ncdenr.gov
Peter Raabe American Rivers praabe@americanrivers.org
Fritz Rohde U.S. National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration fritz.rohde@noaa.gov
Roger Rulifson East Carolina University rulifsonr@ecu.edu
Shane Staples N.C. Division of Coastal Management  shane.staples@ncdenr.gov
Fred Tarver N.C. Division of Water Resources fred.tarver@ncdenr.gov
Bennett Wynne  N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission (Ret.) bennettwynne1@gmail.com
Frank Yelverton Cape Fear River Watch frank@cfrw.us
Simeon Yurek U.S. Geological Survey, South Atlantic Landscape Conservation Cooperative syurek@usgs.gov

 

61563 FEEDBACK

Your input is valuable to us. Please send us your feedback.

What type of feedback would you like to send?*

Ask a Question Report a Problem Have a Concern Make a Comment

(If you would like us to respond please include your phone or e-mail.)

Your Question has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Problem has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Concern has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

Your Comment has been sent. Thank you!

An internal server error prevented Your Question from being sent.
Please try again later, or call Toll-Free (877) 623-6748 for immediate assistance.

Please complete all highlighted items

*If you are a DENR employee with an I.T. issue, please submit a DOTS ticket.